is there a debug console?

Male protagonist, in the Hall for bold and athletic boys.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Kazefiend
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 4:25 am

is there a debug console?

#1 Post by Kazefiend » Mon Feb 17, 2020 8:20 pm

I played a ton of it during alpha/beta and now I kinda wanna just easily get to routes I missed without worrying too much about anything.

User avatar
Spiky Caterpillar
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:34 am
Contact:

Re: is there a debug console?

#2 Post by Spiky Caterpillar » Mon Feb 17, 2020 9:31 pm

Yep, the standard Ren'Py debug console is in there, accessible through shift-O. (In spite of the fact that we're going to get five or six bug reports from people who think it was left in by mistake...)

Airy_sama
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:11 am

Re: is there a debug console?

#3 Post by Airy_sama » Tue Feb 18, 2020 12:21 am

Does it use the same commands as the previous game?

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3529
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

Re: is there a debug console?

#4 Post by hanako » Tue Feb 18, 2020 12:33 am

Sometimes yes, sometimes no, it depends on whether we've renamed things under the hood.

Right now we're a bit busy dealing with launch stuff to write up any useful hints so I'd say tinker-at-your-own-risk at the moment. If there are specific variables you want to mess with, though, ask about them and we can probably tell you how eventually.

Kazefiend
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 4:25 am

Re: is there a debug console?

#5 Post by Kazefiend » Tue Feb 18, 2020 4:03 am

I'm just mainly looking for the magic and money codes, I sat around trying to figure it out but oof.

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3529
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

Re: is there a debug console?

#6 Post by hanako » Tue Feb 18, 2020 12:35 pm

Money's simple enough.

Code: Select all

player.money = 1000

Kazefiend
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 4:25 am

Re: is there a debug console?

#7 Post by Kazefiend » Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:01 pm

I find using that method to try and up magic doesn't stick, the money does however which is good.

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3529
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

Re: is there a debug console?

#8 Post by hanako » Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:33 pm

There's multiple variables for magic so you probably only found the temporary ones, like I said we'll have time to organise more help for that later.

User avatar
Emma E.
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:40 pm

Re: is there a debug console?

#9 Post by Emma E. » Fri Feb 21, 2020 1:26 am

Kazefiend wrote:
Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:01 pm
I find using that method to try and up magic doesn't stick, the money does however which is good.
Add an underscore like back with Long Live the Queen. So instead of player.red=100 you put in player.red_=100. That will make it not temporary

mucalphasig
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: is there a debug console?

#10 Post by mucalphasig » Mon Mar 23, 2020 6:22 pm

These methods do not seem to be working for me.

pod95
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 11:23 pm

Re: is there a debug console?

#11 Post by pod95 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:43 pm

On the same topic, I was thinking of writing a huge guide for ALL the routes and maybe all the achievements too. Is there any way I can easily see what effect choices have further along the line, or how many "points" certain things give you with characters? :)

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3529
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

Re: is there a debug console?

#12 Post by hanako » Tue Apr 07, 2020 8:22 pm

In code probably not - you could track the 'points' for characters that have them because those have straightforward names, but with other things there are so many individual flags that might or might not get checked later, I don't think there's any convenient way to see EVERY variable.

On the other hand if you look at the event guide I've posted elsewhere that should provide a lot of information that would be useful towards writing bigger guides. It's not necssarily perfect (I wrote it by just scanning through my notes for what was supposed to happen, and I may have missed things) but there's a lot in there: https://www.hanakogames.com/md/event_guide.txt

pod95
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 11:23 pm

Re: is there a debug console?

#13 Post by pod95 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 8:43 pm

Thank you so much! This will really help!

Post Reply