Problems displaying the game

Swords, pistols, and palace intrigue - will you fight to save your prince?
Message
Author
User avatar
somestrangecircus
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:24 am
Contact:

Problems displaying the game

#1 Postby somestrangecircus » Sat Apr 04, 2015 1:25 am

Just bought on Steam...But, the game is way too big for my screen and it won't let me make the window any smaller. :(

What resolution is the game in? I was going to try changing my resolution to see if that helps.

EDIT: Did a quick check. My screen resolution is currently 1920 x 1080, and I do not have the option to go any higher.

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

Re: Problems displaying the game

#2 Postby hanako » Sat Apr 04, 2015 1:36 am

That's weird - the game resolution is 1440x900 so if you're at 1920x1080 you shouldn't have any trouble. My current monitor settings are 1920x1080 and the window's a nice comfortable size on the screen.

What happens if you fullscreen it?

User avatar
somestrangecircus
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:24 am
Contact:

Re: Problems displaying the game

#3 Postby somestrangecircus » Sat Apr 04, 2015 1:42 am

It's worse when I fullscreen it...Here, I'll give screenshots.

This is my screen when windowed:

Image

This is when I hit fullscreen:

Image

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

Re: Problems displaying the game

#4 Postby hanako » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:31 am

That is super-weird. I take it your video card has never done anything like this with games before?

I can't figure out why it would be ballooning up like that since the art ISN'T that big to begin with.

Does it make any difference if you hold down shift while launching the game and change to a different display mode?

What sort of computer are you using?

User avatar
somestrangecircus
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:24 am
Contact:

Re: Problems displaying the game

#5 Postby somestrangecircus » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:35 am

Oh, that fixed it! Apparently I needed to select "Prefer OpenGL renderer" instead of "Prefer Software Renderer". I have no clue what the issue is; hasn't done anything like that before.

Thanks for your help! :) On to the game!

User avatar
Spiky Caterpillar
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:34 am
Contact:

Re: Problems displaying the game

#6 Postby Spiky Caterpillar » Sat Apr 04, 2015 9:26 am

Interesting. That's the first time I think I've seen a report of a rendering bug being FIXED by preferring GL on Windows. I wonder, do you have a highDPI/Retina screen by any chance?

User avatar
somestrangecircus
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:24 am
Contact:

Re: Problems displaying the game

#7 Postby somestrangecircus » Sun Apr 05, 2015 4:03 am

The owner of the computer says, "I think so."

My best guess is that the computer simply attempts to render the art too well, but you probably have a better explanation.

User avatar
Spiky Caterpillar
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:34 am
Contact:

Re: Problems displaying the game

#8 Postby Spiky Caterpillar » Tue Apr 07, 2015 12:16 am

Pretty much - highDPI screens are intended to have pixels too small for the human eye to individually process, so the OSes/drivers are often configured to default to scaling software windows up so fine detail will actually be visible.


Return to “The Confines of the Crown”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest