Bug reporting help

Female protagonist, in the hall for adventurous girls.
Message
Author
User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3344
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

#61 Post by hanako » Wed May 11, 2011 11:15 am

Need more information!

What sort of computer do you have?

What exactly happens when you try to update?

User avatar
Benazir
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:21 pm

#62 Post by Benazir » Wed May 11, 2011 11:44 am

Windows XP

Last days nothing occurs after I click *Check for updates*.

I've updated the game from version 0.2.76 (when I ordered MD) to 0.3.68.1. And every day I check updates, but after version 0.3.68.1. ... it stopped.

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3344
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

#63 Post by hanako » Wed May 11, 2011 12:27 pm

If nothing happens, that sounds like there's a network problem between your computer and the update server. Spiky may have more information, but otherwise the best I can suggest is to try again later.

If it can't reach the update server, it can't display the list of versions, so it just sits there.

User avatar
Benazir
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:21 pm

#64 Post by Benazir » Wed May 11, 2011 12:38 pm

hanako wrote:best I can suggest is to try again later.
I know, but it doesn't help. :(

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3344
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

#65 Post by hanako » Wed May 11, 2011 1:13 pm

If nothing else, when we hit code completion I can give you a new full installer.

User avatar
Spiky Caterpillar
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:34 am
Contact:

#66 Post by Spiky Caterpillar » Wed May 11, 2011 7:02 pm

Benazir wrote:Windows XP

Last days nothing occurs after I click *Check for updates*.

I've updated the game from version 0.2.76 (when I ordered MD) to 0.3.68.1. And every day I check updates, but after version 0.3.68.1. ... it stopped.
I suspect some sort of network problem, but I'm not completely sure. What do you get if you go to http://updates.spikycaterpillar.com/mag ... ary/latest in a web browser? Are you using any form of proxy or filtration software?

User avatar
Benazir
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:21 pm

#67 Post by Benazir » Wed May 11, 2011 10:38 pm

Oh, now I can update MD to version 0.3.79.1. Thanks. :)
Spiky Caterpillar wrote: I suspect some sort of network problem, but I'm not completely sure. What do you get if you go to http://updates.spikycaterpillar.com/mag ... ary/latest in a web browser?
This:
stable 0.3.79.1
beta 0.3.79.2
alpha 0.3.80.1
Spiky Caterpillar wrote: Are you using any form of proxy or filtration software?
I don't think so ... :?

User avatar
Benazir
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:21 pm

#68 Post by Benazir » Wed May 11, 2011 10:55 pm

But I can't start the game after last updates .... I get this:

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

KeyError: 'fierce'

While executing init code:
- script at line 32 of /home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/week19.rpy
- python at line 38 of /home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/week19.rpy.
- python at line 36 of /home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/week19.rpy.
- python at line 1545 of /home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/magical_diary.rpy.

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

File "D:\Program Files\Magical Diary - Horse Hall\renpy\bootstrap.py", line 270, in bootstrap
File "D:\Program Files\Magical Diary - Horse Hall\renpy\main.py", line 327, in main
File "D:\Program Files\Magical Diary - Horse Hall\renpy\execution.py", line 259, in run
File "D:\Program Files\Magical Diary - Horse Hall\renpy\ast.py", line 574, in execute
File "D:\Program Files\Magical Diary - Horse Hall\renpy\python.py", line 957, in py_exec_bytecode
File "/home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/week19.rpy", line 38, in <module>
File "/home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/week19.rpy", line 36, in PotsdamCharacter
File "/home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/magical_diary.rpy", line 1545, in PotsdamTalkerSprite
KeyError: 'fierce'

While executing init code:
- script at line 32 of /home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/week19.rpy
- python at line 38 of /home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/week19.rpy.
- python at line 36 of /home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/week19.rpy.
- python at line 1545 of /home/deekoo/code/renpy-projects/MagicalDiary/game/magical_diary.rpy.

Ren'Py Version: Ren'Py 6.11.2b

User avatar
reni344
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:55 am
Location: California

#69 Post by reni344 » Thu May 12, 2011 12:51 am

I can't see the newest update on my game updater is there a way I can fix this?

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3344
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

#70 Post by hanako » Thu May 12, 2011 1:17 am

What DO you see?

If you don't see any versions listed at all, then again, that's just a network hiccup - wait or try again later.

We didn't change anything for Benazir... it's just the internet inbetween doing its own weird thing as it sometimes does. :)

User avatar
reni344
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:55 am
Location: California

#71 Post by reni344 » Thu May 12, 2011 1:33 am

I see 0.379.2 for the version and 0.3.801 for the beta version and then 0.381.2 for the alpha version.

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3344
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

#72 Post by hanako » Thu May 12, 2011 1:35 am

... those were the newest updates. So what was the problem?

User avatar
reni344
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:55 am
Location: California

#73 Post by reni344 » Thu May 12, 2011 1:41 am

it works now.

User avatar
Benazir
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:21 pm

#74 Post by Benazir » Thu May 12, 2011 6:23 am

hanako wrote: We didn't change anything for Benazir... it's just the internet inbetween doing its own weird thing as it sometimes does. :)
Oh, I see .... :)

But what I have to do now? I can't start MD .... instead I get *Errors occured*.

User avatar
hanako
Site Admin
Posts: 3344
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:44 am

#75 Post by hanako » Thu May 12, 2011 1:37 pm

Unfortunately your new problem is a lot harder to figure out because it's not something that's occurring in anyone else's game.

I'm guessing that you were actually still having connection problems and the update didn't download completely, leaving you with a broken game... which will have to be picked over while we try to figure out what bits can be replaced enough to allow you to at least launch it and try again to download a full update.

Sorry. :( All I can say is that we're still looking at it.

Locked