Page 2 of 7

Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:55 pm
by Spiky Caterpillar
ladysasuke wrote:I was trying to update the preorder version and i'm set to the highest resolution.
The highest varies drastically from computer to computer - on Windows, you can get the actual screen size by right-clicking on the desktop, selecting 'Properties', and then clicking the 'Settings' tab - the resolution is shown in 'Screen Area'. Also, the setting of Colors may be relevant.

Fullscreen? Windowed? Does holding down shift make it do anything differently?

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:51 pm
by Riviera
My character did the... "wedding" event.

The next two classes both had the same "aftermath" event happen because both were blue magic classes. Exactly the same, with the exact same results.

Version 0.3.29.1

Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:53 pm
by Spiky Caterpillar
Should be fixed as of 0.3.30.2 or later.

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:12 am
by sweetdreams
I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

this happened during the 5th dungeon...When I transported the sphere to someplace and wanted to do 'push object' on it...I clicked never mind and the error came up

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:27 pm
by summers1989
I just updated to the most current version available and got an error after entering the second dungeon.

[editing to remove shortform traceback, to discourage people in the future from posting these if long tracebacks are available :)]

second dungeon

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:26 am
by Elze
I got the same error when I started a new game and entered the second dungeon (first real test). Happens right after instructions are given. I've uploaded a bug report but after scrolling back and attempting again, the game collapsed.

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:14 pm
by Spiky Caterpillar
The crash entering the second dungeon and the crash pushing the sphere out the door in exam5 should both be fixed in alpha 0.3.42. (You can probably also avoid the crash entering the second dungeon by saving and loading before it happens.)

Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:14 pm
by Bombermans
Hi. I'm using the 0.3.4.3 version (the last beta for the moment), and, when looking at the diary, i get this error:

http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/8902/0343bug.png

O_o

Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:17 am
by jem17
I have version 0.2.76 of the game. When I try to update it, it gives me this error message:

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

TypeError: cannot concatenate 'str' and 'NoneType' objects

While running game code:

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Magical Diary - Horse Hall\renpy\bootstrap.py", line 270, in bootstrap
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Magical Diary - Horse Hall\renpy\main.py", line 382, in main
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Magical Diary - Horse Hall\renpy\main.py", line 170, in run
TypeError: cannot concatenate 'str' and 'NoneType' objects

While running game code:

Ren'Py Version: Ren'Py 6.11.2b

Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:31 am
by hanako
When the problem happened, did the game completely crash and pop up a notepad file with that information, or did it give a full traceback in the game and then created that notepad file when you clicked 'view traceback'?

Those short-form traceback files don't contain full information and aren't very helpful (we're trying to fix the problem that makes that happen). If at all possible, click the upload traceback button to send a full error report.

If it did completely crash and showed you only that short traceback, can you describe in more detail what you were doing? What exactly had you just clicked that made the crash happen? Have you updated successfully in the past?

Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:43 am
by jem17
The game gives a full traceback before popping the notepad files. Then the screen pops in and out of a black screen and the game resets itself back to the main menu. I have clicked to send a full error report at least twice.

I'm not sure what else to describe. I've tried updating the game from the main menu and from saved games I've had. I just go into the updater and click update to version 3.43. It seems like it's about to update and then it brings up that error I receive.

I have not yet managed to successfully update the game yet. I'm not sure if it's something I'm doing wrong.

Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:45 am
by hanako
Okay, if you have sent full error reports then I'll have Spiky look at them when he's back at his computer and hopefully we'll be able to sort out the problem.

It's possible that we'll need to send you a link to a newer installer and skip the update process for now. I'll give you more information once we've looked into it a bit. :)

Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:57 am
by jem17
Okay. Thanks very much!

Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:58 am
by hanako
We're not totally sure what's up with your bug - it might be related to the net connection timing out while trying to download the update - but there have been a lot of updater changes since that version. PM me with your order information and I'll send you a link to a more recent installer, which might work better.

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:08 am
by Riviera
Started a brand new game today and got the valentine's price error (at least that's what it looked like). It mentioned that in the code I saw, at least. Sent the traceback.

I thought that only happened with old saves.. ? Weird..

Version 3.53.